Government of Nepal

Nepal is a landlocked central Himalayan country in South Asia.


Nepal is divided into 7 states and 75 districts and 744 local units including 4 metropolises, 13 sub-metropolises, 246 municipal councils and 481 villages.

It has a population of 26.4 million and is the 93rd largest country by area.

It shares its border with China in the north, Bihar and Utter Pradesh in the south, Uttarakhand in the west, Sikkim and Gorkhaland in the east.

Nepal has a diverse geography, including fertile plains, subalpine forested hills, and eight of the world's ten tallest mountains, including Mount Everest, the highest point on Earth.

Kathmandu is the nation's capital and largest city. Nepal is a multiethnic nation with Nepali as the official language.

English is taught as one of the compulsory subjet in schools in Nepal and highly spoken, read and understood by majority of Nepalese under 55years of age.

Nepal is the largest sovereign Himalayan NATION: Government Of Nepal

The Government of Nepal or Nepal Government is the executive body and the central government of Nepal.

Nepal Government

The Head of state is the President and the Prime Minister holds the position of the Head of executive.

The role of President is largely ceremonial as the functioning of the government is managed entirely by the Prime Minister who is appointed by the Parliament.

The heads of constitutional bodies are appointed by the President on the recommendation of Constitutional Council, with the exception of the Attorney General, who is appointed by the Prime Minister.

Head of Nation:
President, Vice President

Head of Executive:
Prime Minister, Chief Secretary

Head of Legislative:
Speaker of House of Representatives, Chariman of National Assembly

Head of Judiciary:
Chief Justic of the Supreme Court

Ministers of Nepal:
Prime Minister of Nepal, Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Defence, Ministor fo Federal Affairs and Local Development, Ministry of Education, Ministry of Labour & Employment, Ministry of Urban Development, Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Ministry of Health and Population, Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, Ministry of Land Reform and Management, Ministry of Information and Communications, Ministry of Agricultural Development, Ministry of Water Supply and Sanitation, Ministry of Co-operatives and Poverty Alleviation, Ministry of Commerce, Ministry of Law, Justice, Constituent Assembly and Parliament Affairs, Ministry of Irrigation, Ministry of Youth and Sports, Ministry of General Administration, Ministry of Supplies, Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Women, Children and Social Welfare, Ministry of Livestock Development, Ministry of Population and Environment.

Constitutional Body:
Commission fo rthe Investigation of Abouse of Authority
Office of the Attorney General
Office of the Auditor General
Election Commission
Public Service Commission
National Human Rights Commission

Security Services Of Nepal:
Nepal Army
Nepal Police
Armed Police Force
National Investigation Department

Nepal is the largest sovereign Himalayan NATION: Government Of Nepal

Federal Government is the central government, which sees the nation as a whole and is responsible for issues like:.

Federal Government

Foreign Affairs, Passport, Custom, immigration, Banking/Monetary, Defence and Security, overseeing Province/State and Local Government Authorities for the development and well being of Nepal and Nepalese.

Nepal is the largest sovereign Himalayan NATION: Government Of Nepal


State Government or Province

Nepal is divided into seven (7) Provinces/States.

Premier / Chief Minister or State Governor is the top ranking government officer in state/province who works together with the State MP/representatives to govern and rule the state.

Province/States Of Nepal:
Province / State No. 1
Province / State No. 2
Province / State No. 3
Province / State No. 4
Province / State No. 5
Province / State No. 6
Province / State No. 7

There are no District Government Departments anymore. But for educational purpose have listed all the districts that falls under its respective Province/State.

Province / State No. 1:
List of districts in Province/State No.1: Dhankuta, Ilam, Jhapa, Khotang, Morang, Okhaldhunga, Panchthar, Sankhuwasabha, Solukhumbu, Sunsari, Terhathum, Udayapur, Bhojpur and Taplejung.

Province / State No. 2:
List of Districts in Province/State No.2: Bara, Dhanusha, Mahottari, Parsa, Rautahat, Saptari, Sarlahi and Siraha.

Province / State No. 3:
List of Districts in Province/State No.3: Bhaktapur, Dhading, Dolakha, Chitwan, Kathmandu, Kavrepalanchok, Lalitpur, Makwanpur, Nuwakot, Ramechhap, Rasuwa, Sindhuli and Sindhupalchok.

Province / State No. 4:
List of Districts in Province/State No.4: Baglung, Gorkha, Kaski, Lamjung, Manang, Mustang, Myagdi, Nawalparasi (East of Bardaghat Susta(, Parbat, Syangja and Tanahun.

Province / State No. 5:
List of Districts in Province/State No.5: Arghakhanchi, Banke, Bardiya, dang Deukhuri, Gulmi, Kapilvastu, nawalparasi 9West of Baradaghat Susta), Palpa, Pyuthan, Rolpa, Rukum (Eastern part) and Rupandehi.

Province / State No. 6:
List of Districts in Province/State No.6: Dailekh, Dolpa, Humla, Jajarkot, Jumla, Kalikot, Mugu, Rukum (Western part), Salyan and Surkhet.

Province / State No. 7:
List of Districts in Province/State No.7: Achham, Baitadi, Bajhang, Bajura, Dadeldhura, Darchula, Doti, Kailali and Kanchanpur.

Nepal is the largest sovereign Himalayan NATION: Government Of Nepal

There are about 744 local government authorities in Nepal. Six (4) Metropolis, 13 Sub-Metropolis, 246 Municipalities and 481 Gaupalikas. These 744 local governments authorities governs all the local issues like, local road signs, waste, local council rates and payments.

Local Government

Mayor and deputy-mayor elected through local council/government election are the top ranking government representative in local government followed by ward representatives who are also elected during local election.

Nepal is the largest sovereign Himalayan NATION: Government Of Nepal